Press "Enter" to skip to content

Three Rockwall city council seats to be on the ballot in May election

Share this story

The City of Rockwall will soon be calling an election to be held on May 2, 2020 for the purpose of electing the three City Council Members – one each for Places 2, 4 and 6. Terms for all elected Rockwall City Council Members are for a period of two years. All incumbents – John Hohenshelt, Place 2; Trace Johannesen, Place 4; and Patrick Trowbridge, Place 6 – are eligible to run for re-election if so desired.

An informational candidate packet for residents who may be interested in learning more about running for Rockwall City Council is available both at City Hall (385 S. Goliad on the 3rd floor, City Secretary’s Office) and online for download via the City Secretary’s webpage at The period for submitting an application for a place on the May 2 ballot runs from Wednesday, January 15 through Friday, February 14.

It is anticipated that the City of Rockwall’s municipal election will again be administered by the Rockwall County Elections Administrator, as has been done in past years. Early voting is scheduled for Monday, April 20 through Tuesday, April 28 (excluding Sunday). Election Day voting will be held Saturday, May 2 from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Specific information concerning polling locations and early voting times will be made available on our city website and on the county Election Administrator’s website as soon as those details become available.

Applications for ballots by mail must be requested from and mailed to the Rockwall County Elections Administrator’s Office and received no later than the close of business on April 21. The address is 915 Whitmore Dr., Suite D, Rockwall, TX 75087.

Please direct questions regarding ballots by mail, voter registration, designated voting locations, voter identification requirements, absentee voting, precincts, etc. to the county elections office by calling (972) 204-6200. Information concerning the Rockwall City Council municipal election may be directed to the City Secretary, Kristy Cole, by calling (972) 772-6406 or by email at [email protected].

Information courtesy of City of Rockwall

Share this story