Press "Enter" to skip to content

Board of Trustees Moves Forward with Name, Principal and Zoning for Elementary School 15

Share this story

On Monday, December 16, at their regularly scheduled meeting, the Rockwall ISD Board of Trustees voted unanimously to name the district’s 15th elementary school after Sherry and Paul Hamm.  Mr. and Mrs. Hamm served in public education for 59 years, combined, with 52 of those years in Rockwall ISD.

Throughout her 24 years in Rockwall ISD, Sherry Hamm served as a teacher at Dobbs Elementary where she made an indelible impression on the lives of countless Rockwall County students and, to this day, maintains many long-standing relationships with her former students through her extensive letter and card efforts.

During his 28 years in Rockwall ISD, Paul Hamm served as a coach, teacher, bus driver, Director of Transportation and principal of Rochell Elementary and Rockwall Intermediate School, where he made a lasting impression on the lives of countless Rockwall County students.

The district’s nominating committee considered options based on community input and presented their final recommendation to the board on Monday evening. “It was a unanimous decision by the committee and was a pretty simple decision when we read the letters of support from community members,” said Chris Cuny, a Rockwall ISD Board Member. “We’re thrilled that we are honoring two individuals who have given so much to the district.”

“It is really an honor for both of us. All of our years working in Rockwall ISD were so great,” said Sherry Hamm. “The students were great. It’s great to see them now and see that I have former students who are assistant principals and teachers in the district.”

“There are so many great teachers in Rockwall ISD,” said Paul Hamm, “and to be named among all of those is quite an honor.”

Mr. and Mrs. Hamm and their immediate family were present to show their support.  After the board voted to approve a resolution naming the new school, Mr. and Mrs. Hamm were presented with a plaque of the resolution to commemorate the occasion.

The Sherry and Paul Hamm Elementary School will open for students in the fall of 2020.

Megan Smith Named as Principal of Sherry and Paul Hamm Elementary School

Rockwall ISD welcomes Megan Smith as the principal of Sherry and Paul Hamm Elementary School, the 15th elementary school in the district.

Smith is the current principal of Amy Parks-Heath Elementary School where she will remain as principal through the spring semester. She will meet with future Hamm Elementary School students and parents at Hays Elementary on Tuesday, December 17 at dismissal and Wednesday, December 18 for drop off.

“Mrs. Smith is another outstanding campus leader who embodies the district’s core values of relationships, innovation, and excellence,” said Superintendent Dr. John Villarreal. “She recognizes the expectation of high academic achievement, has experience with attendance zone changes, and developing a strong, positive school climate.”

Mrs. Smith earned a Master’s of Education in Educational Administration and a Bachelor of Science Interdisciplinary Studies/Elementary Education from Texas A&M University-Commerce.

This is Mrs. Smith’s 16th year in public education. She spent the last four years as the Principal at Amy Parks-Heath Elementary School. In addition to her campus principal experience, she has served six years as an Assistant Principal at Amy Parks-Heath Elementary, Nebbie Williams Elementary and Tibbals Elementary in Wylie ISD. Mrs. Smith has also served as a teacher at Springer and Dobbs Elementary. In addition to her educational experience in public schools, she has served as a preschool director.

She will begin as principal at Sherry and Paul Hamm Elementary when the school opens in the fall of 2020.

Elementary and Middle School Zoning for Sherry and Paul Hamm Elementary Approved

At the December 16 Board of Trustees meeting, the Board approved the elementary and middle school attendance zone boundaries for Sherry and Paul Hamm Elementary.

The elementary attendance zone for Sherry and Paul Hamm Elementary includes residents east of Hwy 205/N. Goliad, to RISD’s northern boundary, west of N. John King Blvd, including the subdivisions of Stone Creek, Quail Run Valley and Caruth Lakes North (phase accessed from FM1141 and John King Blvd).

The elementary attendance zone for Celia Hays Elementary includes residents east of John King Blvd. to RISD’s northern boundary, north of FM1141 and Cornelius Road, east to FM 3549, North and East following imaginary line to North Ben Payne and North and East to District boundary lines. 

Hamm Elementary, along with the entire Hays Elementary School, is now zoned to Williams Middle School beginning with the 2020-2021 school year.

The decision comes after a process led by the Student Service Department, which included a community meeting held at Hays Elementary School and an online comment period. Public input was welcomed throughout the process and the approved plan includes much of that input.

The school will open in the fall of 2020.

Information and photos courtesy of Rockwall ISD

Share this story
Support Local Business
Support Local Business