Press "Enter" to skip to content

Collin County issues ‘Stay-at-Home’ order

Share this story

Residents in Collin County are being ordered to “stay at home” due to the continuing outbreak of coronavirus, the county judge announced Tuesday morning.

The order was issued by Judge Chris Hill Tuesday morning. An announcement at a news conference with various city mayors. The order goes into effect immediately and is expected to last at least seven days unless it is renewed.

The order reads: “All persons in Collin County are hereby ordered to stay home, except for travel related to essential activities. Entertainment activities are not considered essential activities.”

The “stay at home” order means that residents will only be allowed to leave their homes for items deemed “essential”. Grocery shopping, seeking medical attention or going to jobs that are still open are some mentioned trips that are “essential” according to the order.

“I want to make it clear that all businesses, all jobs and all workers are essential to the financial health of our local economy, and therefore they’re essential to the financial health and well-being of our Collin County citizens,” Judge Hill said. “Persons who are employed need to stay employed.”

Businesses that remain open are still required to adhere to previously enacted state and local guidelines. That includes no gatherings of groups larger than 10 and keeping people at least six feet apart if possible. Restaurants will remain open for pick-up and delivery service only.

According to the order, anyone who experiences symptoms of COVID-19 are also ordered to stay home for at least 14 days unless they are leaving to get medical treatment. The 14-day period starts on the first day symptoms started appearing. Those with symptoms should stay at home for at least 72 hours without the use of medicine after those symptoms have improved.

This order is an extension of a disaster declaration that was already in effect for Collin County, which limited gatherings and closes places like gyms, clubs, entertainment venues and the dine-in areas of restaurants.

On March 22, Dallas County announced a similar ‘stay-at-home’ order in effect until April 3. Rockwall County is also expected to announce one as well.

Share this story