Press "Enter" to skip to content

Governor Abbott Presents 2019 Star Of Texas Awards

Share this story

AUSTIN – Governor Greg Abbott today presented the 2019 Star of Texas Awards to peace officers, firefighters, and first responders who demonstrated heroism and sacrifice in service to their communities and the Lone Star State. 

“The Star of Texas Awards symbolize the deep and enduring gratitude Texans have for the brave first responders who were injured or died in the line of duty,” said Governor Abbott. “Our first responders represent the very best of Texas, and we will never forget their service and sacrifice. To all the men and women who protect and serve, thank you for being the light of justice and peace in our communities. You are the shield that stands between danger and the people of Texas, and you have our deepest respect and unwavering support.” 

The Star Of Texas Awards were created in 2003 by House Bill 1937 to honor and commemorate individuals who made profound commitments while performing their duties as peace officers, firefighters and emergency medical first responders. HB 1937 also designated September 11th of every year as Texas First Responders Day. Today’s ceremony honored and recognized 50 individuals for their remarkable courage and tremendous sacrifice in the line of duty, including some who gave their lives.

Photo Courtesy: Office of the Governor

The 2019 recipients of the Star of Texas Awards are:

Fire Fighters Killed in the Line of Duty

  • Daniel Edward Hampton – Burnet Fire Department
  • Larry Grant Dalton – Dallas Fire-Rescue Department 
  • Marco Antonio Davila – Dallas Fire-Rescue Department 
  • Jeffery Lee Delbert – Dallas Fire-Rescue Department 
  • Charlie Jaimes – Dallas Fire-Rescue Department 
  • Thomas M. Johnson – Dallas Fire-Rescue Department 
  • Scott Deem – San Antonio Fire Department 

Peace Officers Killed in the Line of Duty

  • Earl J. Givens, III – Dallas Police Department 
  • Garrett W. Hull – Fort Worth Police Department 
  • Albert Castaneda, Jr. – Grand Prairie Police Department
  • Nathan Hayden Heidelberg – Midland Police Department 
  • Raymond Bradley Jimmerson – Nacogdoches County Sheriff’s Office
  • Mark Allen Cox – Real County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Korby Lee Kennedy – San Angelo Police Department 
  • Moises Sanchez – Texas Department of Public Safety
  • David Jones Fitzpatrick – The Colony Police Department 
  • Timothy Gerard Olsovsky – Victoria County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Donna Doss – U.S. Customs And Border Protection, U.S. Border Patrol
  • Norman Merkel – U.S. Department Of Justice, U.S. Marshals Service
  • Loren Y. Vasquez – Waller County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Lonnie Verdell Burton – Wayland Baptist University Police Department
  • Alejandro “Alex” Martinez – Willacy County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Jason Matthew Fann – Yoakum County Sheriff’s Office 

Emergency Medical First Responders Seriously Injured in the Line of Duty

  • Steven Ray Holden – U.S. Army 

Fire Fighters Seriously Injured in the Line of Duty

  • Brad Jay Phipps – San Antonio Fire Department 

Peace Officers Seriously Injured in the Line of Duty

  • Christopher S. Fegley – Arlington Police Department
  • Alejandro “Alex” Quintanilla – Arlington Police Department 
  • Derek Baroody – Austin Police Department
  • Luis E. Farias – City of Benavides Police Department 
  • Justin Todd Ellis – Dallas Area Rapid Transit Police Department
  • Troy Lee Allison – Dallas Police Department
  • Brannon Germald Barber – Dallas Police Department 
  • Javier Leyva – Ector County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Steven John McNeill – Ector County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Joshua Devin Pool – Ector County Sheriff’s Office
  • Ricardo Rodriguez – Ector County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Cody Smith – Ector County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Calvin Gustav Lehmann – Fayette County Sheriff’s Department 
  • Christopher Gaines – Harris County Constable Precinct 4
  • John Daily – Houston Police Department
  • Luis Fuhlbrigge – Houston Police Department 
  • Nestor Garcia – Houston Police Department
  • Alonzo Reid – Houston Police Department 
  • Matthew Victor Richard – Houston Police Department
  • Elie Weston Van Horn – Port Arthur Police Department 
  • Claudia Ivette Cormier – San Marcos Police Department
  • Justin Ray Holt – Silsbee Police Department 
  • Wesley C. Hensley – Texas Attorney General’s Office 
  • Travares L. Webb – Texas Department of Public Safety 
  • Henry Jennings Gilles – Trinity County Sheriff’s Office

Share this story