Press "Enter" to skip to content

Rockwall Sheriff’s Office personnel recognized with Life Saving Awards

Share this story

From Rockwall County Sheriff’s Department:

This week at Rockwall County Commissioners Court, Rockwall County Sheriff’s Office personnel were recognized with Life Saving Awards from Sheriff Eavenson, Major Calkins, Judge Sweet, Commissioner Gilbert, Commisioner Bailey, Commisioner Sevier, Commissioner Magness and John Vic – Representative of Texas Senator Bob Hall.

On May 11, 2019, an inmate in separation was attempting to commit suicide by hanging himself. Sergeant Chavez, Officer Harwell, Officer Burrow, Officer Williamson, and Officer Small quickly responded. They were able to safely remove the noose from the inmate’s neck and lower him to the ground. The inmate was then transported to the hospital by EMS. They used sound judgement and quick actions and aided in saving the inmate’s life. For their dedication to the Rockwall County Sheriff’s Office, they have been given the Life Saving Award. We are truly amazed everyday and appreciate what the great men and women of the Rockwall County Sheriff’s Office do!

Share this story